tdo 8

Does anywhere in England still make shoes?
Most are knocked out for pennies in some far east sweat shop.
_________________
Image
http://wingsoverscotland.com/
http://www.newsnetscotland.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:44 pm
gusmac wrote:
Does anywhere in England still make shoes?
Most are knocked out for pennies in some far east sweat shop.

And most campers wear hiking boots not flip flops when they’re roughing it, I think thats probably why they shot out so fast,

C’mon Jochen, stop trying to land a Typhoon on a minesweeper mate.

Top
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:55 am
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Doom wrote:
C’mon Jochen, stop trying to land a Typhoon on a minesweeper mate.

Unfortunately this is much more fun than being forced to carry out senseless orders, to do a job where you earn nothing, to look for an over-prized room, where there is none, to ask for a car, when you know you won´t get one anyway and instead of friendly colleagues having a lynch-mob with the noose at the ready.

No, mate, think of the headlines “European cab-driver wins case at European court, over square and pseudo-liberal council. Brighton, an over-rated place, weary of it´s own hype, full of stuck-up and ignorant people?”

_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:44 am
Jochen Lembke wrote:
No, mate, think of the headlines “European cab-driver wins case at European court, over square and pseudo-liberal council. Brighton, an over-rated place, weary of it´s own hype, full of stuck-up and ignorant people?”

That isn’t going to happen bud, even the euro court will back the council, you do realise what you are trying to achieve is to make taxi driving an unlicensed free for all don’t you?

Top
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:30 pm
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Grrmmblll! Quite the contrary, I made it perfectly clear already, that HCO in some points is not even strict enough and that I would actually raise the bar, not lower it! Basically, I only want less bureaucracy with at the same time an even higher standard of qualification!
_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:38 am
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

So, here´s the whole article from my blog, with the coffee and the girl that kissed me on the mouth. The passage in bold is what one of the numpties has ripped out of the context, to make me look bad, just the way Rupert Murdoch would do. The very next sentence, “I’ve had nothing but work in the last years” is already cut off, because he wanted to make me look like an offender, not a hard working person, which I am, and all the context around it giving it an entire different meaning is not quoted, too.

Well, well, English girls, how about that. During the day, especially when stressed, the defenses go up when you just try to be a little friendly. At night, when having had just a few drops of alcohol, they can really go wild. I’ve heard something on the radio, like England would be the most promiscuous country in Europe, only followed by Germany, well, makes sense, I guess. So, I have one girl getting in my cab and saying that it smells like coffee, I offer her a sip and you know what, she accepts and drinks from out of my coffee cup! Then I have another girl and we have a nice chat, there she says, before she gets out, “come on, give me a kiss!” So I do, I kiss her on the mouth. And you know what, it feels sooo wonderful, she is really young and pretty and it has been ages since I’ve kissed a girl on the mouth, I’ve had nothing but work in the last years. “I will put this on my blog” I say, a little dazzled. I can still taste her lip-stick 20 minutes later.

So, later on there’s a couple boarding my cab. She gets in first, doesn’t say a word, her boy-friend deals with that person that steers the car that gets her to where she wants, that human annex of the machine. He’s friendly, but it’s a kind of “happy-New-Year-driver”-friendliness. We drive, then they make me do an illegal turn and then they kiss, in the back. Reminds me of something. “Hey, I just got kissed by a girl”, I say. “It was really nice.” I don’t know, I just say things like that sometimes. I’ve been a cab-driver for so long now, every passenger who gets in my cab is like someone I know for decades, I tell people everything and most of the times, they return the favour. Yet, she reacts really, really badly. “There’s a thing called privacy”, she says coldly. “I don’t want to hear about it. I think this is really poor of you.” Yeah, right, lady, I was only telling you about that kiss and you were performing it right in front of my eyes in the rear mirror, that privacy kind of a slobbering act, lady. “You’ve got to keep things like that for yourself.” Yeah, right, lady, speak your mind, I will do mine. “Oh no, I will tell it to the world!” I say. This is not only a mourning blog! It’s not just bad things happening to me! And I give my business-card card to the man, who’s just getting out. “F_uck you!” he says. And throws the card onto the back seat. “You were being rude to me!” And he says, he thinks I’m jealous. Here I am, proud of being kissed by that really nice girl and he’s making it like I’m jealous. I tell you what, I’m not jealous. There’s loads of girl you can pick up at each corner if you have a little money, who are really pretty on the outside but ugly from within. And I tell you, your girl is such a person, I wouldn’t want her for a single night, I tell you that, I really don’t. I never had any money in all my life because other things were always more important to me and I never wanted girls like that and I don’t envy you her. But this is a cab-driver, an underprivileged being and of course he’s jealous for he never has the chance to get such fabulous ladies as you have, mate, right? On the meter is £5.80. He throws a fiver at me. “Here’s your money”, he says. They walk away. I turn and roll down a window. “It’ll be on my blog too, how you short-changed me!”

_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:56 am
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

There has been two news in the Spiegel online yesterday, one about a new Audi, basically only built to annoy people with green and social conscience and the other one was that a German community has bought a bus engine from China, that runs entirely on battery. Ergo, my country builds cars for rich people in China, China does green technology for poor people in Germany.

I mean by that, I don´t want any nationalist thinking, I want us to benefit from the European and global brain pool! There has been electrified trolley buses in Switzerland for many decades, yet Brighton & Hove City Council runs the dirtiest and noisiest buses I´ve ever had the annoyance to be stuck behind!

North Street in Brighton, the city with the oldest tram in the world, is one the most polluted areas world-wide. I have seen people wearing masks or holding handkerchiefs to cover their noses, when waiting for a bus, people were telling me they would love to cycle, only they can´t, because they developed a constant cough from cycling behind buses.

Why I put this here and not on my blog?
Well, I do, but my blog reads no one, except, when they can look for more scandalous things to find there.

Brighton & Hove City Council, as inefficient, stupid and stubborn as people deserve it, that have voted for it!

_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 8:41 am
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:58 pm
Posts: 2315
Location: Plymouth

Jochen Lembke wrote:
Why I put this here and not on my blog?
Well, I do, but my blog reads no one, except, when they can look for more scandalous things to find there.

Well am I shocked?

Not really!

I was more surprised to realise you are German and not English.

_________________
Chris The Fish

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gdlyi5mc … re=related

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 2:42 pm
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Sure I am German, I just got near 5 Euro´s tip for slagging off the Brits in front of a group of Arabs with UK-background, stubborn and head-strong they´d be. Oh yeah, he said and gave me a tenner for a 5.60 fare. :mrgreen:

Image

Image

Pics made today.
Look at these rolling Easter-eggs, just the bow missing. :D

_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 6:33 pm
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 6:30 pm
Posts: 34513
Location: 1066 Country

Jochen Lembke wrote:
Look at these rolling Easter-eggs, just the bow missing. :D

Hope that’s an iffy camera as those wheels look like they are pointing different ways. :shock:

_________________
IDFIMH

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:33 am
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

:) No, that´s just the fish-eye-mode on my cam. But it does indeed enhance the egg-shape of that Mercedes B-class model nicely!
_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:30 am
Jochen Lembke wrote:
Sure I am German, I just got near 5 Euro´s tip for slagging off the Brits in front of a group of Arabs with UK-background, stubborn and head-strong they´d be. Oh yeah, he said and gave me a tenner for a 5.60 fare. :mrgreen:

Pics made today.
Look at these rolling Easter-eggs, just the bow missing. :D

So we’re all a bunch of **** s now then just because the UK laws didn’t bend to suit you then?

I just lost all and any respect I had for you mate, typical live there and refuse to integrate type, wherever you are now please stay there, your attitude just fuels racial hatred tbh, such poor form imo.

Top
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 1:23 pm
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

What has bitten you, Doom, you were open for a little friendly banter before?

I thought the English to be rather stubborn before I left the UK again and that didn´t keep me from missing them. Don´t expect, especially after what happened on the B&H forum, that all this has changed my mind!

We have a lot of English students in Germany lately, especially those who don´t have parents like that cabinet of millionaires – do you think I expect them to be like docile pups? C´mon!

I already told you, a UK-guy can renew his cab-licence in Germany with a UK-driving licence, I have checked on that. So, make up your mind whether to stay in the EU or not, have a poll about that. If you don´t want to, fine, if you do, then behave like a member of the EU.

_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:38 pm
Jochen Lembke wrote:
What has bitten you, Doom, you were open for a little friendly banter before?

I thought the English to be rather stubborn before I left the UK again and that didn´t keep me from missing them. Don´t expect, especially after what happened on the B&H forum, that all this has changed my mind!

We have a lot of English students in Germany lately, especially those who don´t have parents like that cabinet of millionaires – do you think I expect them to be like docile pups? C´mon!

I already told you, a UK-guy can renew his cab-licence in Germany with a UK-driving licence, I have checked on that. So, make up your mind whether to stay in the EU or not, have a poll about that. If you don´t want to, fine, if you do, then behave like a member of the EU.

I am, but when you post anti British things like that it makes me think otherwise of your good self, an Arab is about as fickle as they come anyway so he’ll probably be giving you and Germany a dig five minutes later anyway,

But don’t be sour grapes about it all just because you didn’t get to bend the rules [-(

Top
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:05 pm
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

There is no anti British with me nor will there ever be, Doom. England will always be a part of me, Brighton will always be a part of me. You will always be in my heart, no matter what will come and I will always care for you. My father was forced to shoot at people with a machine-gun, I am an ambassador of peace and understanding – for this I am blessed enough, whatever the outcomes of this comparatively small struggle may be.
_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:41 pm
Jochen Lembke wrote:
There is no anti British with me nor will there ever be, Doom. England will always be a part of me, Brighton will always be a part of me. You will always be in my heart, no matter what will come and I will always care for you. My father was forced to shoot at people with a machine-gun, I am an ambassador of peace and understanding – for this I am blessed enough, whatever the outcomes of this comparatively small struggle may be.

It didn’t read that way originally J, I know all about your dad, I long ago worked it out that you either became a soldier or got shot by one back then, we’ll let that be the last of it then, peace.

Top
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 5:55 am
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Yeah, I know, the numpties put that on the list why I´d not be a fit and proper person, but I can only say that this has opened my eyes wide for injustice of any kind and that I will never let it out on any one the way my father had let it out on me. Others who had it always cozy in their lives may just sit back and take it, but “wherever there´s injustice I had always believed in fighting” and what´s not fit and proper is that law. But just like the man I am quoting, I am only fighting for peace. The main reason for all the fighting in the word is injustice. We want a better world, we have to fight for it.
_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 6:20 pm
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

One for the numpties and their list!

Image

What? I´d be not a fit and proper person? Well, I show you fit and proper, baby!

_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/

Top
 Profile
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:42 pm
I’ve a feeling that picture may well make it onto the rank notice board poles pretty soon.

Image

Are you giving that model cab a loving or a focking?

Top
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:46 am
Offline
User avatar


Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 334
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Image

Well, no such reactions on the German forum yet and let´s just wait and see how the others will react to that, shall we. :wink: After all, we´re all Europeans, right? :D

ImageImageImage

_________________
Jochen Lembke, Europe´s cab-driving writer and author of the best Hitch-hiker´s-Guide-to-the-Galaxy-volume-six ever written. Or else money back (haha.) My blog in English language: https://ejochenlembke.wordpress.com/
About Jochen Lembke

Europe's cab-driving writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

